Utilizing BIM for Sustainable Architecture

An analysis and continuation of my graduate thesis at the University of Texas at Austin.

BIM/IPD workflow and collaboration

Posted by Justin Firuz Dowhower, AIA, LEED AP on August 13, 2010

This is an older article, but it is still relevant: “NEXT-GEN BIM: Graphisoft Teamwork 2.0 will revolutionize BIM/IPD workflow and collaboration” by Jerry Laiserin, July 2009.  This is an interesting introduction and analysis of how BIM authoring tools approach project sharing and collaboration where the goal is to enable greater project integration without sacrificing workflow flexibility.  The article also brings up an interesting point regarding how worksharing capabilities tend to benefit larger firms/projects while penalizing smaller firms/projects with unnecessary management complexity.  This article focuses on the [new] teamwork framework for Graphisoft’s ArchiCAD 13.  Although I’m personally biased towards Autodesk’s Revit suite, I think they could learn a thing or two from Graphisoft’s approach and I think they are going in this direction (if not already with v2011).

For more information on this topic, see Chapter 3 of my thesis discussing BIM/IPD and comparing various BIM technologies.

6 Responses to “BIM/IPD workflow and collaboration”

  1. Excellent site you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

  2. Thankfulness to my father who informed me concerning this weblog, this weblog is really amazing.

  3. Aw, this was a really good post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a
    great article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never seem to get anything
    done.

  4. I leave a response each time I like a post on a site or if I have something to contribute to the discussion.
    It is triggered by the passion displayed in the
    post I browsed. And after this post BIM/IPD workflow and collaboration Utilizing BIM for Sustainable Architecture.
    I was actually moved enough to write a commenta response ;
    ) I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look like like a few of these responses appear like left by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social sites,
    I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post.

    Would you make a list every one of your social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

  5. Hi all, here every one is sharing these know-how, thus it’s pleasant to read this blog, and I used to pay a
    quick visit this weblog everyday.

  6. Ray said

    Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful article.

    Thank you for providing this information.

Leave a Reply

 
